Luxor is located on the East Bank of the Nile, across from the Valley of the Kings and just upstream (south) of Karnak. The temple is dedicated to Amun. Once yearly, a festival was held at Luxor, in which Amun of Karnak visited his Luxor counterpart.
The inner parts of the temple were built mostly by Amenhotep III, the father of Akhenaten. Ramesses II built the outer court and pylon. The photo is taken from inside the temple precincts, looking northeast, parallel to the long axis of the temple, to the back of Ramesses' pylon in the distance.
Luxor Temple is a large Ancient Egyptian temple complex located on the east bank of the River Nile in the city today known as Luxor (ancient Thebes) and was founded in 1400 BCE. , Known in the Egyptian language as ipet resyt, or "the southern sanctuary", the temple was dedicated to the Theban Triad of Amun, Mut, and Chons and was built during the New Kingdom, the focus of the annual Opet Festival, in which a cult statue of Amun was paraded down the Nile from nearby Karnak Temple (ipet-isut) to stay there for a while, with his consort Mut, in a celebration of fertility – whence its name.
The earliest parts of the temple still standing are the barque chapels, just behind the first pylon. They were built by Hatshepsut, and appropriated by Tuthmosis III. The main part of the temple - the colonnade and the sun court were built by Amenhotep III, and a later addition by Rameses II, who built the entrance pylon, and the two obelisks (one of which was taken to France, and is now at the centre of the Place de la Concorde) linked the Hatshepsut buildings with the main temple.
To the rear of the temple are chapels built by Tuthmosis III, and Alexander. During the Roman era, the temple and its surroundings were a legionary fortress and the home of the Roman government in the area.